Band Of Brothers : Piece Of Cake

CD [Cover Art for Band Of Brothers / Piece Of Cake] Your Price: $13.42
Availability: In Stock
Sell date: 7/2011
Label: CD Baby
Mfg's Catalog#: 5637809
CDC Part#: 1595624
Add to Basket Add to Basket

For sound samples and details,
view this item at Amazon
 Notes & Reviews
'Piece of Cake' - fifteen songs that perfectly represent the songwriting & musical talents of The Band of Brothers. The album features six songs from Michael Scott Smith; six from Jamie Stevens, and three from Alan Fox; with drums & percussion by Jesse Sprinkle on twelve tracks. Other musical guests are Sean Smith on saxophone (Piece of Cake) and Aaron Hall on violin (Irish Morning). Work on the CD began in early 2011, when the group began rehearsing and arranging the songs in earnest at concerts (although a half dozen of the songs had been in their performance repertoire for years.) The basic tracks were recorded 'live' in the studio in early May 2011, with subequent sessions devoted to overdubbing some harmony vocals, slide guitar, and percussion. Michael is featured on vocals, guitar, slide guitar, banjo, mandolin, acoustic bass & percussion; Jamie on vocals, 12-string guitar, banjo & mandolin; and Alan on vocals, acoustic & electric guitar, banjo, and acoustic & electric bass. All recording and mixing was completed by late June 2011. The fifteen songs are presented in a variety of musical styles: folk, bluegrass, doo-wop, country swing, folk-rock, Irish - whatever was required by the nature of each song. Humor abounds, and every song offers a delightful story that begs for repeated listens.

Old Uncle Joe
Dancing in Time
Piece of Cake
The Cat Song
Silent Ocean
Wild Bill
Kissing & Hugging
We Used to Ride the Freight Trains
Palm of Your Hand
Driving Granny Home
Little Green Devils
Irish Morning
Punxsutawney Phil
Your Face Is Love
Boston Brown Rub