Opolopo : Superconductor

CD [Cover Art for Opolopo / Superconductor] Your Price: $18.20
Availability: In Stock
Sell date: 5/2015
Label: Z. Records
Mfg's Catalog#: 36
CDC Part#: 1891690
Add to Basket Add to Basket

For sound samples and details,
view this item at Amazon
 Notes & Reviews
Opolopo first hove into view for many as the man behind the genre-crossing house remix of Gregory Porter's 1960 What?, a tune that finished in the top ten of many DJs in 2012. Labeled future jazz by some, it's only a minor part of the Opolopo story, which spans genres like a musical suspension bridge. Opolopo was born Peter Major in Zirc, Hungary, a short drive away from the beautiful tourist spot Lake Balaton, but spent a large part of his childhood touring around with his keyboardist father, listening to the fusion sounds of Herbie Hancock, Jeff Lorber, Jean Michel Jarre, and Tomita, before finally ending up in his current residence of Sweden. It's little wonder he's ended up where he is. His work, both on remixes and original productions, is imbued with a life spent listening to the soul, funk, jazz, and fusion of his youth. Yet, while clearly inspired by the past, Opolopo's work still has enough clank and clamor to suggest it's feet are firmly in the present, whether it's channeling the sound of a 21st century D-Train; dark, fathoms-deep house; or doom-laden dubstep.

01. the Best (Feat. Colonel Red)
02. Get on Up
03. So Good (Feat. Keni Burke)
04. Round & Round (Feat. Diane Charlemagne)
05. Feels Good 2 Me (Feat. Taka Boom)
06. Staying Power (Feat. Pete Simpson)
07. Superconductor
08. the Run
09. Sustain (Feat. Paul Randolph)
10. Candy Coated Perfection (Feat. Sacha Williamson)
11. Monolith
12. Just Feel the Music (Feat. Taka Boom)
13. Spare Me the Details (Feat. Erik Dillard)