Truckstop Souvenir : Leave Nothing Behind

CD [Cover Art for Truckstop Souvenir / Leave Nothing Behind] Your Price: $17.51
Availability: In Stock
Sell date: 9/2006
Label: CD Baby
Mfg's Catalog#: 5637510
CDC Part#: 969614
Add to Basket Add to Basket

For sound samples and details,
view this item at Amazon
 Notes & Reviews
'... their voices and instruments ... intertwine with an ease that evokes both the showbiz Polish of the Everly Brothers and the rustic charm of the Carter clan ...' Kurt B. Reighley, The Stranger '... a vivid, soul-stirring journey ... smashing debut ... absolutely terrific songs' Tom Petersen, Victory Review 'Hank Williams looms large over this record ... story telling at it's very best ... ' Andy Riggs, Americana-UK 'Steeped in the old school of country that even hipsters enjoy, Truckstop Souvenir provides a big dose of twang in a convincing, endearing manner.' Daniel Brantley, Seattle Sound Magazine Truckstop Souvenir is the acoustic country duo of Texas born songwriter, Dennis James and songwriter/multi-instrumentalist, Lauryn Shapter. This husband and wife collaboration has performed together around the greater Seattle area over the last three years, building a loyal fan base and honing their unique sound, reminiscent of country music's bygone days. Truckstop Souvenir's debut release, 'Leave Nothing Behind' features five original songs from each of the two writers and a distinct take on a favorite cover tune. Dennis and Lauryn take turns singing lead and harmony vocals while playing lead and backing instruments. Joining the duo are guest musicians, David Keenan (Jo Miller and Her Burly Roughnecks, Ranch Romance, Miles and Karina, The Buckaroosters) on mandolin, Tom Parker (The Starlings, Pelusa, Datri Bean) on harmonica, Chris Leighton (Laura Love, Randy Bachman, Bill Frisell) on drums, and bass players, Chuck Deardorf (Chet Baker, Larry Coryell, Bud Shank) and Matt Weiner (The Hot Club of Cowtown, Danny Barnes, The Asylum Street Spankers). Dennis James (Vocals, Guitar, Mandolin) Influenced by some of the great songwriters from his native state of Texas, Dennis took up the craft in his early twenties and briefly fronted the Ft. Worth band, Fresh Coffee. He left music for roughly 10 years before moving to Seattle, returning to music, and subsequently meeting his wife and musical partner, Lauryn. Lauryn Shapter (Vocals, Fiddle, Guitar, Piano) Originally hailing from the country music mecca of New York City, Lauryn took off for the Four Corners region of Colorado in the mid-90s. After hiding out in a small, canyon town enjoying the outdoor life and playing bluegrass, Lauryn came to Seattle in 2001. She has recorded and performed with several local bands, but meeting Dennis inspired her to begin writing and singing her own songs and she is now focused full-time on Trucksop Souvenir. Recording credits include The Starlings, Vivian Linden and the Latecomers, Dylan Burr, and Huckleberry James. Among others, she has performed with Anna Coogan, Vivian Linden and the Latecomers, Joy Mills and Tom Parker of The Starlings, and Rachel Harrington.

Pretty Woman (You Walk on My Soul)
Mama's Debt
Leave Nothing Behind
My Heart Ain't Yours
It's Simple Here
The Bootlegger's Daughter
All-Night Franchise Diner
Ramblin' Man
Horse & Rider
Front Porch & You
Memorial Day