Various Artists : Northern Soul Story: Start Of An Era

CD [Cover Art for Various Artists / Northern Soul Story: Start Of An Era] Your Price: $18.86
Availability: In Stock
Sell date: 6/2018
Label: Jasmine Records
Mfg's Catalog#: 8075021
CDC Part#: 2043260
Add to Basket Add to Basket

For sound samples and details,
view this item at Amazon
 Notes & Reviews
Low Stock
Not Returnable, Not Cancellable.
Here is a selection of rare and collectible, original American recordings that would themselves influence the kind of recordings that would actually define Northern Soul.This collection features recordings made between 1956 and 1962 and represent the various changes that the scene went through over the years as far as the sound and tempo of records that could fill the floors.50 excellent tracks ranging from H. B. Barnum's "It Hurts Too Much to Cry", to Charles Sheffield's Louisiana jukebox hit "It's Your Voodoo Working" to Ruth Brown's 1956 hit "Sweet Baby of Mine" then to mid-tempo doo wop from The Franciscans' "Walk to the Bottom of the Sea" plus many more superb tracks.Today the scene is just as vibrant as it ever was and collections like this one show how the music that fuelled the scene really started. These are truly the sounds that started an era.

Johnny West Tears Baby
Charles Sheffield It's Your Voodoo Working
Etta James Seven Day Fool
Joe Tex I Wanna Be Free
The Showmen the Wrong Girl
Sam Cooke Sugar Dumpling
Grover Mitchell That'S a Good Idea
Pete & Repeat But I Still Do
Tony Clarke Love Must Be Taboo
Betty Everett I'Ve Got a Claim on You
Billy Hambric Flaming Mamie
George Allen Come on Home
Paul Walters & the 521 Club Band I Know What Love Is All Abo
Big Boy Myles She'S So Fine
Johnny Appalachian Up in Smoke
The Franciscans Walk to the Bottom of the Sea
Lavon Bridges With a Smile (On My Face)
The Profiles Take a Giant Step (Walk On)
Dale Cunningham Too Young
Gladys Knight & the Pips Stop Running Around
Lee Rogers Troubles
Prince Conley I'm Going Home
The O' Jays Miracles
Gloria Lynne You Don'T Have to Be a Tower of Strength
Hugo Montenegro & His Orchestra Sherry
Joe Simon Troubles W/ Johnny Heartsman'S Band
Othea George What'S the Matter With Me
J. J. Barnes Won'T You Let Me Know
Ruth Brown Sweet Baby of Mine
The 5 Royales Catch That Teardrop
Bob Adams What a Mess
Cornell Blakely You Broke My Heart
Chico Leverett Baby (Don'T Leave)
Dean Barlow Third Window From the Right
Roy Hamilton Earthquake
Sam Butera & the Witnesses Theme From the Rat Race
H. B. Barnum It Hurts Too Much to Cry
Danny Owens You'Re a Little Too Late
Maxine Brown Now That You'Ve Gone
Benny Freeman Come on & Tell Her
Ruben Fort So Good
Bertha Tillman Lovin' Time
Bob Kayli Tie Me Tight
Johnny Nash Ol' Man River
Jerry Butler I'M the One
Gerri Granger Castle in the Sky
Jimmy Ruffin Don'T Feel Sorry for Me
23 Chuck Wright the Palm of Your Hand
The Delcos Arabia
The Miracles If Your Mother Only Knew